Debating Champions

A huge congratulations to our 6th class debate team who won the first ever ‘Mayor’s Debating Competition’. Our competitors have been working tirelessly over the last few months. Victories over Streamstown NS and Tubberclare NS meant we progressed to the final to take on a formidable Mount Temple. The final took part in the council chambers and a large crowd were in attendance.

St Mary’s put forward the motion that zoos should be banned while Mount Temple opposed the motion. After a brilliant debate, St Mary’s came out on top. We would like to thank Mayor Aengus O’ Roarke for giving us the opportunity to compete in such a fun and challenging competition.
A huge congratulations to Mary Doyle, Niamh Riordan, Abhay Malhotra, Jacquelin Skrina, Tabassum Zaraf and Karina Markelova who have worked so hard over the last few months.
IMG-20180511-WA0001 IMG-20180511-WA0002

You may also like...